Xtratime Community banner

1 - 20 of 144 Posts

·
Registered
12,484 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
There is a lot of debate over who invented the sport. We know the UK have invented most sports such as rugby, snooker & tennis. However it is well disputed and thought to well documented that the ancient Greeks invented the sport. My knowledge on this is very little and the stuff I have read on it is bias towards the English.

Does anyone really know where the beautiful game was first invented?

·
Registered
2,377 Posts
Yes, E - N - G - L - A - N - D !!

·
Registered
62,100 Posts
Ingerland.

·
Senior Poster of the year 2007
40,147 Posts
I'm not an expert, but as far as I know, since the old civilizations as the Chinese one, many of them had a "sport" that consisted in kicking a ball following certain rules. But modern football was invented in England, when a university decided to change several rules of rugby: not touching the ball with the hands, using a round ball, making it as a sport with less contact,... I'm not sure, but I think it was something like this.

·
Registered
56,232 Posts
the french, they played with the head of nobles during the french revolution.

·
Registered
28,190 Posts
Koeman4 said:
I'm not an expert, but as far as I know, since the old civilizations as the Chinese one, many of them had a "sport" that consisted in kicking a ball following certain rules. But modern football was invented in England, when a university decided to change several rules of rugby: not touching the ball with the hands, using a round ball, making it as a sport with less contact,... I'm not sure, but I think it was something like this.
:thmbup:

Heard that something similar to modern Football was played in Florence a few centuries ago.

·
Registered
23,142 Posts
Da quanto scritto nel nuovo volume della Enciclopedia Treccani dedicato allo sport, il calcio sarebbe stato inventato addirittura al tempo degli antichi romani.