Xtratime Community banner

1 - 20 of 107 Posts

·
Registered
14,672 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Since we are talking about central Africa: in Belgium there is quite some commotion about a BBC-documentary on our second king Leopold II and his behaviour in Congo.

Congo was given to him personally at the Berlin conference in 1884 (? i'm not good with numbers) by the the superpowers of that time. Before selling his colony to the state of Belguim 20 years later he tried to get as much profit out of it as possible. This mainly by the production of rubber. Congo had the monopoly on this ressource and because Dunlop has just invented the tire, this was an industry that was booming. The companies Leopold used to get as much gain as possible used the most rootless ways to make the local population work for them.

Although the cruelty this all happened with are facts that can not be denied, th documentary is quite controversial. First of all because it uses the word genocide. Second because of the fact the UK is portraited as the nation that for the sake of human rights was fighting Leopold. Their actual reason however was that Leopold kept his territory closed for other nations (except for a small part infavour of France) and they were loosing out of massive profits.

White king, red rubber, black death I was already shown on BBC, Dutch TV and in Belgium it was shown yesterday. Has anybody seen it?

·
Nasty Woman
22,583 Posts
Damn, I've got to get satellite Tv.

·
Registered
15,157 Posts
I love it when "genocide" is thrown around so freely.

Btw, UK fighting for anyone's human rights in the 19th century???

:howler:

·
Banned
3,469 Posts
Andrija PFC said:
I love it when "genocide" is thrown around so freely.

Btw, UK fighting for anyone's human rights in the 19th century???

:howler:
Errr... Yes:) They banned slavery (OK they took their time) and I think there are still letters from African slave traders moaning at them for it!
We don't all eat babies y'know:)