Xtratime Community banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
5,697 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
You all know I have a soft spot for obscure teams and an interest in politics, so for me it was a true delight when North Korea finally managed to qualify for the WC. With my own favourite national teams almost 90% certain out of the race, the Korea DPR games are the ones I look forward to most.

But I would like to not watch them totally uninformed and know a bit about North Korean football in advance. A bit of searching gave me little info since this country isolates itself to such extent that even regular internet is inexisting, only a big intranet with government sponsored sites. So hardly impossible to find info on their players, their clubs etc since none of them are on the web. There is wikipedia but we all know info there is not always as reliable.

Does anyone who follows Asian football in depth (or maybe someone of neighbouring nations who catch a bit of news from Pyongyang now and then) know more about their players? Do they have a professional league in North Korea? Is there a large football fan culture with travelling fans in their league (not to games abroad obviously since people are forbidden to leave the country)?

From wikipedia I found out this:
- there are two leagues , one in spring and one in autumn, both are considered more or less official. Both last 3 to 4 months.
- there are no professional players in the same way as in other countries, due to the communist laws.
- transfers are, due to the same laws, regularised by the FA rather than the existance of a free transfer market. Clubs receive state donations to get themselves going. Transfers abroad strictly forbidden.
- most clubs are connected to the army or local governments in some way, at least so their names indicate and in some ways it´s pretty obvious