Xtratime Community banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
33,807 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Since it will affect this forum in the sense that it will create a change in the Forum Managers, I thought I'd share with you this letter of resignation that I have just handed in:

--
After a only a short time as a Community Manager, I have made a difficult decision: I am resigning from my position as Community Manager, and as Forum Manager of the Milan and US Soccer forums.

Let me explain.

I was used to coming and going when I wanted to, reading and posting when I wanted to, and reading and posting what I wanted to. Even when I was only a Forum Manager of the US Soccer forum, its relative quietness and the fact that Oldsocfan and Herndonite were always there gave me flexibility. When I then accepted the position of Community Manager, I knew it would be time consuming. Right in the beginning my post count started rising more rapibdly than before, with almost all of my posts having to do with the position. But I felt I was doing something important and was willing to accept this. After a while, however, eventhough there were Admins and Community Managers doing more work than I was, I found that I was spending all my time online being a Community Manager, making posts because of my position, reading and writing PMs because of my position, and browsing and searching the site because of my position. While I think it is great that some people are able to do this, I am unfortunately not one of them, since it doesn't seem quite right to come to a football site not to discuss football.