Xtratime Community banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
17,861 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm just about to finish Malcolm X's autobiography and I think I have never read a book that has moved me and made me think as much as this one has. This man had such charisma that it jumps out at you from the page from 40 years ago! His assessment of America and its treatment towards the Black people is outstanding and it is very easy to see why the white establishment feared him so much and the Black people loved him so. His intelligence is astounding especially as he was self-taught (he left school during 8th grade) and he was becoming a much more mature thinker when he was assassinated in 1964. The book is also a fascinating social history, from the street hustler during the 1940s to the inner sanctum of the Nation of Islam to his Hajj to Makkah. I would recommend this book to everyone because it challenges what you think about not only yourself but also the world you live in. He was truly remarkable man!

·
Registered
10,421 Posts
Yes the Malcolm X story is indeed a very fascinating one. I would like to read the book, so can you tell me who wrote it please?

·
On Planet Z
6,520 Posts
The Autobiography of Malcolm X is truely one of the most thought-provoking books I've ever read. When I finished, I couldn't help but wonder how his evolution would have continued had he survived the 1960's. I often think about him in relation to the Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. (they were in essence two very different men, but comparing the two is nearly inevitable)--had they both survived the '60's, would they have stayed the same path as they had started? Would Dr. King have become the more radical of the two? Would they have become brothers in arms?

By the way, Prince, Alex Haley (Roots guy) was the one who finished work on the autobiography after Malcolm's death.

·
Registered
17,861 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Its very easy to find - most bookshops stock it!