Xtratime Community banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
7,595 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi, I'm new to xtratime, and i want to know, apart from blaming koeman and soler for Valencia's season, the defense need to take up the blame also. helguera in particular. where Valencia a one-man team with Ayala, or do we need someone really special to fill his boots.

and, xtra time is much more livelier than soccer pulse, especially the Valencia forum!

·
Registered
14,137 Posts
Erm we lack someone (like) Ayala. Helguera was never going to be the answer, he's just a cheap version of Albiol.

Our defense is weak physically, Ayala was not the most built nor the tallest but he was a ruthless mother****er.
We lack someone with experience as a captain + someone who can organise the defense. We will improve once Alexis returns to the starting line-up hopefully but IMO we can still improve some more if we sign a capable defender.

The problem is the fact that there are very few of Ayala's kind, he's a dirty no nonsense defender that can read the game.

Ruiz better start looking at central defenders from now, forget Jo(CSKA).

·
Registered
10,281 Posts
Welcome.

This season, Ayala has been very poor for Zaragoza as have them as a whole, so who knows, be we certainly could have used his leadership at the back, if it would have made a difference, we don't know. We do need a centre back though (especially if Marchena keeps playing in the midfield, which seems permanent), we have to test out Alexis and see if he is good enough to start, with Albiol, if they can gel we have got a duo that can last us years to come.

·
Registered
34,126 Posts
hi, I'm new to xtratime, and i want to know, apart from blaming koeman and soler for Valencia's season, the defense need to take up the blame also. helguera in particular. where Valencia a one-man team with Ayala, or do we need someone really special to fill his boots.