Xtratime Community banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Premium Member
19,837 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The chairman of the French League, Frederic Thiriez, has confirmed the use of video evidence is close to being realised.

Thiriez has been a fan of the technology for some time and has been working on a plan to bring in video replays for almost three years.
The LFP boss claims he has the backing of the majority of referees, coaches and players and is ready to conduct tests on its feasibility.

"The use of video will become inescapable," he told L'Equipe. "I have been working on that since November 2002, the night we made a first experience with micro and earphones for the referees.
"The referees' points of view reinforce my ideas. We have to reach that. The paradox is everyone has video, but the referee!"

Thiriez admits the use of video evidence will not eradicate all wrongs in the game, but claims the move can only benefit football as a whole.
"Even if it won't settle all the trouble, there will be fewer mistakes," he added. "The opposition comes mainly from football institutions, not from people on the pitch - the referees, the coaches, the officials and the players.

"They say video could slow the game's fluidity. That is why I have been working with referees for several months to determine how to use that help. "Today, we are ready.

"The main referee will be alone to be able to ask for video. We selected three cases: Did the ball cross the line? Did the foul take place in the area? Was the goal scored with a handball?

"The fourth referee will have a monitor and use it when the main referee asks for it. It needs five or 10 seconds. We have done the tests.
"For the moment, we won't study offsides.
"We will make our first experience during the Trophee des Champions on July 27."

Source taken from newspaper l'équipe.
--------------------------------------------------------