Xtratime Community banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Cachorro
18,741 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
(this interview was published in Lance A Mais, a Brazilian weekly sports magazine; translated by Garrincha)

Lance – You never hide from anybody that you’re a Corinthians fan…
Edu – I don’t hide it because that was the club that projected me for football. I was practically born inside Corinthians, when I started playing I was four and a half years old, and spent almost 16 years in there. To this day, I know from the doorman to the president.

L – Corinthians barely escaped from relegation in the Paulistao (Sao Paulo state championship). How did they arrive at this point?
E – It’s not a matter of how Corinthians got there, but where Brazilian football is going to. It’s their own disorganization that’s sinking the clubs. If you have well-structured clubs, providing support for the players, with carefully-planned work, you see the results – like in Cruzeiro and Sao Paulo. But the disorganization is hurting the majority of clubs.

L – In the late 90s, when you won everything for Corinthians, was the situation this chaotic?
E – Corinthians won everything because they were organized. Vanderlei Luxemburgo set up a solid basis, Oswaldo de Oliveira (who took over after Luxemburgo left) didn’t change much… the soul of a good modern football team is, beyond the good players, time for the team to “gel” and gain 'entrosamento' (a Brasilian word for smooth collective gameplay). Arsenal is a good example of this, they’ve been together for 4, 5 years now.

L – What’s the main administrative difference between Brasilian and English football?