Xtratime Community banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
5,189 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Sergio Conceicao has hit out at Lazio bosses after his move to Parma paved the way for Hernan Crespo to join the Roman double-winners. Parma will receive Matias Almeyda and £12 million as well as a furious Conceicao, who blasted: "I am very disappointed in the way Lazio have behaved."

The Portuguese winger added: "I deserved more respect. I expected more attention and to be honest I had no intention of leaving Rome. However, I am a professional and in the end I am forced to accept this decision."

Crespo's drawn-out transfer was sealed on Tuesday despite looking on the verge of collapse last week when Marcelo Salas, whom Parma had demanded in part-exchange for Crespo, announced he was not interested in moving to the Ennio Tardini stadium.

But on Monday night Lazio president Sergio Cragnotti met his Parma counterpart Stefano Tanzi and Portuguese winger Conceicao was thrown into the equation.

Now the formalities are expected to be completed on Wednesday, when Crespo will be paraded before the Rome public. He is believed to have agreed an annual salary of £2 million.

The deal, which values Crespo at around £35 million, ends a saga that has kept Italy entertained for months – since the South American told friends he wanted to join a club with a realistic chance of winning trophies.

The 25-year-old added: "I was afraid at what happened last season with Parma. We were out of everything two months before the end of the season. I would prefer to score fewer goals but win something. I want a European Cup."

Crespo, who was also a target for Juventus, finished second to Andrei Shevchenko last season in the Serie A goalscorers’ charts.

Conceicao's departure opens the way for Boudewijn Zenden to sign for Lazio. Barcelona are asking £4 million for the wide man who impressed at Euro 2000 with Holland.

·
Registered
703 Posts