Xtratime Community banner
1 - 1 of 1 Posts

· Registered
4,742 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Trinidad & Tobago will host the 2009 CONCACAF U-20 Championship in March, 2009.

The event will qualify four teams for the U-20 World Cup in Egypt, September 25-October 16, 2009.

Two groups of four teams will produce a winner and a runner-up from each group; those four teams will represent CONCACAF in Egypt.

Group A will begin play in Dwight Yorke Stadium in Bacolet, Tobago on March 6, the first of six consecutive days of round-robin play that also will be staged in Marvin Lee Stadium in Macoya, Trinidad. The semifinals will be played March 13 in Macoya with the championship and third-place match March 15 in Marvin Lee.

Six teams already have qualified for the CONCACAF U-20s. Canada, Mexico and the United States will be joined by host Trinidad and Central American sides Costa Rica and El Salvador. The Caribbean Football Union will stage the finals of its qualifying event November 18-22 in Aruba, with the winner advancing automatically and the runner-up facing Honduras, the third-place finisher in Central American qualifying, for the final berth.

The last U-20 World Cup was of course held in Canada in 2007.

Canada has participated in eight of 16 FIFA U-20 World Cups, including each of the last four. At UAE 2003, Canada reached the quarter-final stage before losing 1:2 to Spain on a golden goal. Along with a pair of CONCACAF U-20 championships (1986 and 1996), Canada also finished first in Group A of the 2001 CONCACAF Under-20 Qualification Tournament.
1 - 1 of 1 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.