Xtratime Community banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

4,539 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Steve Staunton, the Republic of Ireland's most capped player, is one of three nominees in the running for the country's player of the year award for 2001.

Staunton, who now has 94 caps to his name, previously won the award in 1993, as did one of the other players shortlisted, Roy Keane, who was honoured in 1997. Newcastle United goalkeeper Shay Given is the third nominee for the eircom sponsored award.

Only Paul McGrath, honoured in 1990 and 1991, has won the award twice.

The winner will be announced at the eircom International Awards Banquet in CityWest Hotel, Saggart, on Sunday, February 10.

Holder Richard Dunne, Damien Duff and Ian Harte have been nominated for the Young Player of the Year award, while Andy O‚Brien, John O‚Shea and Steven Reid are shortlisted for the U-21 award.

Glen Crowe, Owen Heary and Paul Doolin are in the running for the eircom League award.

The full list of nominees is:

Senior player: Shay Given (Newcastle United), Roy Keane (Manchester United), Steve Staunton (Aston Villa).

Young: Damien Duff (Blackburn Rovers), Richard Dunne (Manchester City), Ian Harte (Leeds United).

Under-21: Andy O'Brien (Newcastle United), John O'Shea (Manchester United), Steven Reid (Nottingham Forest).

Eircom League: Glen Crowe (Bohemians), Paul Doolin (UCD), Owen Heary (Shelbourne).

Youth Award: Stephen Capper (Sunderland), Jonathan Daly (Stockport County), Sean Thornton (Tranmere Rovers).

Under-16: Pierre Ennis (Aston Villa), Ciaran Sharkey (Belvedere), Glen Whelan (Manchester City).

Senior ladies: Sharon Boyle (Shamrock Rovers), Olivia O'Toole (Shamrock Rovers), Yvonne Treacy (Arsenal).

U-18: Maire Curtin (Lifford), Rachel Jenkins (St. Catherine's), Mary Waldron (St. James' Gate).

Junior Award: Pat Holden (Evergreen), David Kane (Ballymun United), Christy McElligott (Ballymun United).

Under-15: David Cassidy (Home Farm), William Flood (Manchester City), Edward Keyes (Leeds United)

Schools: Noel Hunt (Mount Sion/Shamrock Rovers). Brendan Sweeney (Deerpark/Cobh Ramblers), Ashley White (St. Macartans/Monaghan United).

Intermediate: Barry Porter (Letterkenny Rovers), James Smith (Cherry Orchard), Stephen Yelverton (Rockmount).

3,225 Posts
Here is my pic's for the winners:

Senior player: Shay Given

Young: Richard Dunne

Under-21: Andy O'Brien

Eircom Owen Heary

Youth Award: Stephen Capper

Under-16: Glen Whelan

Senior ladiesYvonne Treacy

I cannot pick the rest, I don't know enough about em'...:)
1 - 2 of 2 Posts