Guy Luzon as a NT Coach? - Xtratime Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old December 15th, 2009, 02:38 Thread Starter
Legend

Teams: Beitar Jerusalem, ISRAEL NT, Inter Milan,
Guy Luzon as a NT Coach?

If there's one thing guaranteed to get Guy Luzon hot under the collar, it's when the media refer to his current success as coach of Bnei Yehuda Tel Aviv as a "comeback."

"I have been so successful as a coach," he told Haaretz yesterday, "and the only thing that people remember is my five months at Hapoel Tel Aviv. They make it sound like I was there for 50 years. After all my success at Maccabi Petah Tikva, five bad months at Hapoel Tel Aviv turned everyone against me."
Advertisement

"They said I had crashed," he continued, "they said I was finished, they said I was a terrible coach and they said that I only got my break as a coach because of my family name. The public should decide now whether everything that was written about me was professional or whether it was motivated by a more personal agenda."

I take it you still haven't put your time at Hapoel behind you?

"The criticism [leveled against] me was not professional. For years people attacked me in order to hurt my uncles - Avi and Amos Luzon. My family name drew fire. I met with senior sports writers who told me that they know how much I mean to my uncles - and that's why they did hatchet jobs on me. They told me that if I didn't want to draw fire, I should quit soccer. The bottom line is that I don't carry any scars from my time at Hapoel. I am the same coach I was before, but a different person. I learned a hell of a lot about what happens within a soccer club - but away from the field. I learned that there are plenty of nasty people out there. If I focus on settling scores, I won't be successful in my present club. I need to concentrate all my skills on getting results."