windows 7 problem. - Xtratime Community
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old June 19th, 2012, 01:32 Thread Starter
Xtratime Legend
 
arfy05's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03 2005
Teams: Liverpool
Posts: 28,739
Blog Entries: 3
windows 7 problem.

Bought a HP laptop from PC World 2-3 years ago with Windows 7 Home Premium installed. Never had a problem with anything until today the ******** thing came up with a message that my windows may be counterfeit and to activate it online. when I tried it wouldn't accept the activation and asked for a product key entry. unfortunately the coa has wiped off almost fully and I don't have a copy elsewhere. I ran a key gen and entered the activation code and it still doesn't register. Has anyone else ever had this problem.

Looking at google the solutions don't seem to work or are for people with dodgy windows. I have recently installed avg which seems to have gone all gaddafi on my laptop and locks everything.

I've used several system restores but too no avail.

it does seem to be a problem for a lot of genuine people. fvckin microsoft.
any solution folks.

Vicente05 will be back
Kroos05
is the future

No Kroos no party baby!!!!!!!!!!

arfy05 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old June 19th, 2012, 01:41
*the drum drum*
Xtratime Legend
 
Zico 10's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09 2000
Posts: 42,435
Have you tried a factory reset/reinstall?

Should be a dedicated key to hit that will restore the laptop to how it was when you bought it (which in turn wipes all your data & configuration).

Just wondering if you have and if that also fed you an invalid key error/warning. If it did, there's something wrong with the bulk licence at HP's side.
Zico 10 is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old June 19th, 2012, 01:43 Thread Starter
Xtratime Legend
 
arfy05's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03 2005
Teams: Liverpool
Posts: 28,739
Blog Entries: 3
Wanted to avoid that, but guess it is the only solution if i can't get any success with the bellends at HP. Apparently the factory reset is in the BIOS is that right.

Is there some software which is best to backup all my shit or shall I just get a load of DVd's and burn it all.

Vicente05 will be back
Kroos05
is the future

No Kroos no party baby!!!!!!!!!!

arfy05 is offline  
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old June 19th, 2012, 01:46 Thread Starter
Xtratime Legend
 
arfy05's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03 2005
Teams: Liverpool
Posts: 28,739
Blog Entries: 3
it must be a problem at hps end cause the generator i used gave me the oem license key. which i also found on a forum.

http://forums.mydigitallife.info/thr...Key-Collection

thats the same key I had. besides the first 5 * which im guessing are unique to my machine

Vicente05 will be back
Kroos05
is the future

No Kroos no party baby!!!!!!!!!!

arfy05 is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old June 19th, 2012, 23:27
*the drum drum*
Xtratime Legend
 
Zico 10's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09 2000
Posts: 42,435
Forgot to mention that you can get your product key using software too, provided you haven't changed it.

.
Zico 10 is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old June 20th, 2012, 01:30 Thread Starter
Xtratime Legend
 
arfy05's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03 2005
Teams: Liverpool
Posts: 28,739
Blog Entries: 3
yeah did it, but windows doesnt accept it. what a cvnt system they have

Vicente05 will be back
Kroos05
is the future

No Kroos no party baby!!!!!!!!!!

arfy05 is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old June 20th, 2012, 12:03
*the drum drum*
Xtratime Legend
 
Zico 10's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09 2000
Posts: 42,435
Quote:
Originally Posted by arfy05 View Post
yeah did it, but windows doesnt accept it. what a cvnt system they have
It's a good thing you found it, you can now use that when you speak to HP support.

The other option is to go direct to Microsoft. I had a HP laptop with Vista and wanted the original Vista disc whilst all HP offered (which is what they all do these days) was the option to burn a recovery disc that reset it to factory default.

So I called HP and after not understanding what I wanted and explaining how to burn a recovery disc, then eventually speaking to someone more versed in English who didn't accept my point of view (that I purchased the OS licence as a part of my laptop purchase, so that I should be entitled to the OS on a disc), I decided to give Microsoft a try directly.

I told them the same thing, they took a few details (one of which was the product key) and then for something like $30-40 they shipped me a disc with a new product key.
Zico 10 is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old July 4th, 2012, 01:10 Thread Starter
Xtratime Legend
 
arfy05's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03 2005
Teams: Liverpool
Posts: 28,739
Blog Entries: 3
thanks Zico. i have finally managed to solve it, but what an arsehole of a problem. all stemming from shit no fault of the end user. microsoft bellends

also piss off spam bot cvnt your advise is shit and contradictory p

Vicente05 will be back
Kroos05
is the future

No Kroos no party baby!!!!!!!!!!

arfy05 is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old July 4th, 2012, 01:28
*the drum drum*
Xtratime Legend
 
Zico 10's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09 2000
Posts: 42,435
What was the resolution, got a new product key from Microsoft?
Zico 10 is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old July 18th, 2012, 21:38 Thread Starter
Xtratime Legend
 
arfy05's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03 2005
Teams: Liverpool
Posts: 28,739
Blog Entries: 3
typical late arfy reply. hassled hp who sorted it. but advised to make a big ass back up and restore next time, as new hp's don't come with boot up disks.

Vicente05 will be back
Kroos05
is the future

No Kroos no party baby!!!!!!!!!!

arfy05 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Xtratime Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive. Try to avoid choosing short (like '1'), simple (like 'abcd') and easy to guess passwords (like a name of your favorite team, player, etc)! Complex and long enough passwords, that consists of random string of alphabet and numerical characters, are almost impossible to be stolen and misused.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome