Help me out if you can... - Xtratime Community
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 64 (permalink) Old November 13th, 2004, 20:19 Thread Starter
Legend
 
Join Date: 04 2004
Posts: 15,037
Blog Entries: 2
Help me out if you can...

me again with pc questions...
since I have this Windows XP and Stream, I thought I'd get both MSN Messenger and ICQ in no time... ha... I just can't download them! When I click on "download now" only a window of my desktop folder opens and nothing more while I know I am supposed to see a window asking me whether to save or to open a file and no matter whether I close the desktop folder or sit waiting, nothing happens :depress:
so dammit, I am cut off from all my I-net friends!
Julia is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 64 (permalink) Old November 13th, 2004, 20:37
Legend
 
Join Date: 02 2000
Posts: 11,758
do you have a firewall installed?

did you try to "save target as"?
Viola is offline  
post #3 of 64 (permalink) Old November 13th, 2004, 20:40 Thread Starter
Legend
 
Join Date: 04 2004
Posts: 15,037
Blog Entries: 2
yes I have a damn firewall u think it is caused by it?
see I am not offered any options... so i cant try anything, only this stupid window of a desktop folder
Julia is offline  
 
post #4 of 64 (permalink) Old November 13th, 2004, 21:05 Thread Starter
Legend
 
Join Date: 04 2004
Posts: 15,037
Blog Entries: 2
oh sorry I've sorted it out
did u know I am a computer genius? Now I know itp
Julia is offline  
post #5 of 64 (permalink) Old November 13th, 2004, 21:33
Legend
 
Join Date: 02 2000
Posts: 11,758
congrats - once more!
Viola is offline  
post #6 of 64 (permalink) Old November 14th, 2004, 07:02 Thread Starter
Legend
 
Join Date: 04 2004
Posts: 15,037
Blog Entries: 2
thanx again
I won't delete this thread though. I bet I might need it later
Julia is offline  
post #7 of 64 (permalink) Old November 14th, 2004, 08:19
Star Player
 
Join Date: 10 2004
Posts: 3,268
Blog Entries: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fracky
did u know I am a computer genius? Now I know itp
I've always told you that, remember?
Infinity is offline  
post #8 of 64 (permalink) Old December 20th, 2004, 14:35
World Class Player
 
Join Date: 08 2004
Posts: 7,508
One little request to our computer geniuses
I have to make some documentation in PDF format but I just can scan pages and make PDF files containing only one page, not the whole thing how to join them together?
ginger_ale is offline  
post #9 of 64 (permalink) Old December 20th, 2004, 15:26
Legend
 
OAnimal's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10 2002
Location: Bovec, Slovenia
Teams: Slovenia, Brazil, Russia, Korea, Vasco da Gama
Posts: 19,633
Quote:
Originally Posted by ginger_ale
One little request to our computer geniuses
I have to make some documentation in PDF format but I just can scan pages and make PDF files containing only one page, not the whole thing how to join them together?
Assuming that you run Windows OS on your computer, I have no idea. But I can do this for you. Just drop me a PM and I'll tell you my email address.

Caipirinha: 6 €
Brazilian NT shirt: 70 €
Flight to Rio de Janeiro: 400 €
Seeing Italian NT kicked out of major tournament: PRICELESS

Hatelist:
Juvemerdus
Partizan
Associazione Culo Milan
Lazio
Barcelona de mierda
Real de puta Madrid
Manchester Shitnated
Liverfool
Dinamo Kyiv
Panathinaikos
Olympique Marseille
Bayern
New England Shitriots
All NBA and NHL except Red Wings
OAnimal is offline  
post #10 of 64 (permalink) Old December 22nd, 2004, 12:01
World Class Player
 
Join Date: 08 2004
Posts: 7,508
oh... just have noticed ur post Bojan
well, actually this time it can go as it is... I just was wondering how to do it..
Erm... so u wont mind if next time when Ill need the same thing, I ask u for help?
ginger_ale is offline  
post #11 of 64 (permalink) Old December 31st, 2004, 12:56 Thread Starter
Legend
 
Join Date: 04 2004
Posts: 15,037
Blog Entries: 2
now i need help
I've got a digital cam finally (it was a real thriller how I tried to get it :eekani: remind me to tell u abt it next time ) and it's a great one... but is it possible to make pics smaller somehow? they are about 1Mb each now, can they be compressed or smth like this?
Julia is offline  
post #12 of 64 (permalink) Old December 31st, 2004, 14:08
Legend
 
OAnimal's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10 2002
Location: Bovec, Slovenia
Teams: Slovenia, Brazil, Russia, Korea, Vasco da Gama
Posts: 19,633
Quote:
Originally Posted by ginger_ale
oh... just have noticed ur post Bojan
well, actually this time it can go as it is... I just was wondering how to do it..
Now I haven't noticed your post for quite a while...


Quote:
Erm... so u wont mind if next time when Ill need the same thing, I ask u for help?
Of course not.

Happy new year.

Caipirinha: 6 €
Brazilian NT shirt: 70 €
Flight to Rio de Janeiro: 400 €
Seeing Italian NT kicked out of major tournament: PRICELESS

Hatelist:
Juvemerdus
Partizan
Associazione Culo Milan
Lazio
Barcelona de mierda
Real de puta Madrid
Manchester Shitnated
Liverfool
Dinamo Kyiv
Panathinaikos
Olympique Marseille
Bayern
New England Shitriots
All NBA and NHL except Red Wings
OAnimal is offline  
post #13 of 64 (permalink) Old December 31st, 2004, 14:17
Legend
 
OAnimal's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10 2002
Location: Bovec, Slovenia
Teams: Slovenia, Brazil, Russia, Korea, Vasco da Gama
Posts: 19,633
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fracky
now i need help
I've got a digital cam finally (it was a real thriller how I tried to get it :eekani: remind me to tell u abt it next time ) and it's a great one... but is it possible to make pics smaller somehow? they are about 1Mb each now, can they be compressed or smth like this?
Of course they can be compressed. First you try to find out what kind of pictures your camera produces - when you download pictures to your computer, look what extension does the filename have - is it jpg, or gif or tif or something else. Then you should find a program which can convert images to jpg format, using user defined compression level (jpg images can be compressed to be several times smaller than the original ones). Also, try to find out how big the pictures produced by your camera are (in pixels). For using them only in your computer or internet 1024x768 (or even 800x600) pixels is more than enough. It's probably possible to use the same program to make the pictures fit the size I mentioned.

If this doesn't help you, I can make a webpage on my computer, where you will upload the picture and the webpage will make the compression for you.

Happy new year.

Caipirinha: 6 €
Brazilian NT shirt: 70 €
Flight to Rio de Janeiro: 400 €
Seeing Italian NT kicked out of major tournament: PRICELESS

Hatelist:
Juvemerdus
Partizan
Associazione Culo Milan
Lazio
Barcelona de mierda
Real de puta Madrid
Manchester Shitnated
Liverfool
Dinamo Kyiv
Panathinaikos
Olympique Marseille
Bayern
New England Shitriots
All NBA and NHL except Red Wings
OAnimal is offline  
post #14 of 64 (permalink) Old December 31st, 2004, 14:19
Star Player
 
Join Date: 04 2003
Posts: 3,469
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fracky
now i need help
I've got a digital cam finally (it was a real thriller how I tried to get it :eekani: remind me to tell u abt it next time ) and it's a great one... but is it possible to make pics smaller somehow? they are about 1Mb each now, can they be compressed or smth like this?
Edit - because Oanimal had already given a better answer
Attila_the_Nun is offline  
post #15 of 64 (permalink) Old January 2nd, 2005, 11:38 Thread Starter
Legend
 
Join Date: 04 2004
Posts: 15,037
Blog Entries: 2
well, pics are in jpg format, i can choose between L (2048x1536), M1 (1600x1200), M2 (1024x768), S (640x480) in my cam settings, and I also can choose between "superfine", "fine" and "normal" quality. Should I switch the settings to M2 then? Or M1 will be ok too?
Quote:
If this doesn't help you, I can make a webpage on my computer, where you will upload the picture and the webpage will make the compression for you.

(I am such a lazy ass )
I just cant think of any idea where I could get such a program from...

Happy New Year! (again)
Julia is offline  
post #16 of 64 (permalink) Old January 2nd, 2005, 11:39 Thread Starter
Legend
 
Join Date: 04 2004
Posts: 15,037
Blog Entries: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Attila_the_Nun
Edit - because Oanimal had already given a better answer
damn why did you edit it? I wouldn't refuse to read your version too!
Julia is offline  
post #17 of 64 (permalink) Old January 2nd, 2005, 16:03
Legend
 
OAnimal's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10 2002
Location: Bovec, Slovenia
Teams: Slovenia, Brazil, Russia, Korea, Vasco da Gama
Posts: 19,633
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fracky
well, pics are in jpg format, i can choose between L (2048x1536), M1 (1600x1200), M2 (1024x768), S (640x480) in my cam settings, and I also can choose between "superfine", "fine" and "normal" quality. Should I switch the settings to M2 then? Or M1 will be ok too?
No, I think M1 will make pictures too big (I doubt you have a computer screen of 1600x1200 pixel size, so you won't be able to see the whole picture at once on your screen, if you set the camera to M1 anyway). Try M2 and "normal" quality, that should make pictures between 100 and 300 KB. If you don't like the quality of the picture, try using "fine" quality, but the picture size in KB will increase.

Quote:
I just cant think of any idea where I could get such a program from...
With the settings you have on your camera, I don't think you need it anymore.

Caipirinha: 6 €
Brazilian NT shirt: 70 €
Flight to Rio de Janeiro: 400 €
Seeing Italian NT kicked out of major tournament: PRICELESS

Hatelist:
Juvemerdus
Partizan
Associazione Culo Milan
Lazio
Barcelona de mierda
Real de puta Madrid
Manchester Shitnated
Liverfool
Dinamo Kyiv
Panathinaikos
Olympique Marseille
Bayern
New England Shitriots
All NBA and NHL except Red Wings
OAnimal is offline  
post #18 of 64 (permalink) Old January 3rd, 2005, 07:41
World Class Player
 
Join Date: 08 2004
Posts: 7,508
Quote:
Originally Posted by OAnimal
Now I haven't noticed your post for quite a while...
never mind


Quote:
Of course not.
ohhh thanks
ginger_ale is offline  
post #19 of 64 (permalink) Old January 4th, 2005, 13:19
Xtratime Legend
 
Arianna's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08 2003
Location: Switzerland
Teams: Udinese,Lokomotiv Moscow,Russia NT
Posts: 23,142
today i've "opened" the pc and i see all so light...what's happen?

Arianna is offline  
post #20 of 64 (permalink) Old January 4th, 2005, 13:21 Thread Starter
Legend
 
Join Date: 04 2004
Posts: 15,037
Blog Entries: 2
didn't you turn on the lights in your room occasionally?
Julia is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Xtratime Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive. Try to avoid choosing short (like '1'), simple (like 'abcd') and easy to guess passwords (like a name of your favorite team, player, etc)! Complex and long enough passwords, that consists of random string of alphabet and numerical characters, are almost impossible to be stolen and misused.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Linear Mode Linear Mode
Rate This Thread:



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome