you guys can see the third round here
i felt like punching the ref after watching that. It was horrible. The Azeri kept falling and the reg just told him to get up and didnt count it as a knockdown. The Azeri would get his ass kicked, fall and the ref would just tell him to get up.
Olympic boxing officials punished for controversial rulings
By: Ryan Maquinana, NBC OlympicsUPDATED: Aug 2, 1:36p ET
Japan's Satoshi Shimizu initially loses his Round of 16 men's 56 kg bout to Magomed Abdulhamidov in highly controversial fashion before having the judges' decision overturned.
Referee Ishanguly Meretnyyazov of Turkmenistan has been sent home "with immediate effect" for his actions, mainly failing to rule a standing-eight count for any of the six instances in which Azerbaijan's Magomed Abdulhamidov hit the canvas during the third round of his bout with Japan's Satoshi Shimizu.
Abdulhamidov was awarded the win by the judges, a decision that was eventually overturned by AIBA.
The AIBA Olympic Compliance Committee has also expelled International Technical Official Aghanian Abiyev of Azerbaijan "with immediate effect." Abiyev has since departed from the AIBA Delegation's hotel.
In addition, German referee Frank Scharmach has been suspended for five days through Aug. 6 following his questionable disqualification of Iranian boxer Ali Mazaheri for excessive holding in his bout with Cuba's Jose Larduet.
"I deeply regret that we had to take these decisions. However, our main concern has been and will always be the protection of the integrity and fair-play of our competitions. I will take all possible steps to reinforce this," said AIBA president Dr. Ching-Kuo Wu in a statement to the press.
The Abdulhamidov-Shimizu bout has garnered international attention for the absurdity of its outcome. NBC ringside boxing commentators Teddy Atlas and Bob Papa were incensed at the developments, eliciting emotional diatribes regarding their opinions of the state of amateur boxing.
"If it winds up going to the fighter from Azerbaijan, you really have to think about what the intentions of that referee was," Atlas said before the judges' verdict was announced. "By not giving him eight-counts, by not stopping the fight, maybe not even allowing a fighter to quit, the fighter from Azerbaijan might have wanted to quit. If it goes to him, you have to wonder what the intentions of this referee was."
Papa was equally infuriated with his take on the matter.
"I'm reading from the rules," Papa said. "If a boxer is down on the mat from a punch, the referee is to give a ten-second count. If the boxer can't continue, it's a knockout...This referee never administered an eight-count for an injured boxer, He should be eliminated from the Olympics."
"Immediately," Atlas replied. "This is going to be a joke if it winds up not going to the Japanese fighter."
When Abdulhamidov's arm was raised in victory by the judges' score of 22-17--a margin that included the Azerbaijani receiving 10 points in the final round despite his multiple trips to the canvas due to Shimizu's punches--Atlas and Papa were livid, alluding to the potential foul play on the part of Meretnyyazov and others.
"Unbelievable!" Atlas exclaimed. "That's what the referee wanted to do. He wanted to save that fighter. That's incredible!"
"Everybody here from AIBA should look at themselves and realize why this sport is considered a joke at this point," Papa added.