OT: Satellites - Xtratime Community
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old May 23rd, 2005, 05:35 Thread Starter
Legend
 
Kappa21's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Teams: Beitar Jerusalem, ISRAEL NT, Inter Milan,
Posts: 11,734
OT: Satellites

Way off topic here, but...

my satelite is losing channels like hot cake...
I lost my channels and there mostly from Europe and Asia.

I know a few others in this forum probably have or do know others who have this, since this is Canada and we are multicultural community that loves to grasp the media of our former nation(s).

What is going on with your Satelite?
Is there alternatives? Did they figure out the problem? Is switching to FTA a solution?

im going nuts without my saturday morninig footie :sweeteye:

:rollani:
:rollani: :rollani:
:rollani: :rollani: :rollani:
:rollani: :rollani: :rollani: :rollani:
:rollani: :rollani: :rollani: :rollani: :rollani:
The Golani Brigade

Kol HaKavod Le Ztahal

STRAIGHT OUTTA PETACH TIKVA

Rick James, Bitch!
Kappa21 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old May 23rd, 2005, 09:17
Xtratime Legend
 
Lupi's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04 2001
Location: Montréal, Canada
Teams: România, Viitorul Constanta
Posts: 25,374
Well, do you have a "special" card? Do you have the Bell satelite dish? If you do, loosing channels is something normal and unavoidable. Soon, you won't be able to watch any channels.

"Strength and honor"
MAXIMUS DECIMUS MERIDIUS
Lupi is offline  
post #3 of 21 (permalink) Old May 23rd, 2005, 15:23
Xtratime Legend
 
Join Date: 08 2004
Posts: 27,119
Well since Tarbs fell apart i lost all my satellite channels and now my dish is useless.
Ambis is offline  
 
post #4 of 21 (permalink) Old May 23rd, 2005, 20:32 Thread Starter
Legend
 
Kappa21's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Teams: Beitar Jerusalem, ISRAEL NT, Inter Milan,
Posts: 11,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lupisor
Well, do you have a "special" card? Do you have the Bell satelite dish? If you do, loosing channels is something normal and unavoidable. Soon, you won't be able to watch any channels.

Yes! I had a 'special' card...
and it gave me channels from all over.

I had channels from US + Asia+Europe and also S. America

now im loving it....

come back...come back!

:rollani:
:rollani: :rollani:
:rollani: :rollani: :rollani:
:rollani: :rollani: :rollani: :rollani:
:rollani: :rollani: :rollani: :rollani: :rollani:
The Golani Brigade

Kol HaKavod Le Ztahal

STRAIGHT OUTTA PETACH TIKVA

Rick James, Bitch!
Kappa21 is offline  
post #5 of 21 (permalink) Old May 23rd, 2005, 22:00
World Class Player
 
Join Date: 04 2000
Posts: 7,935
They are switching to a new encryption system.. All of those channels will be lost

Its true, this is crazy, most of us need to watch channels that are not offered in Canada and have no alternatives for it..
Sabry is offline  
post #6 of 21 (permalink) Old May 23rd, 2005, 23:23 Thread Starter
Legend
 
Kappa21's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Teams: Beitar Jerusalem, ISRAEL NT, Inter Milan,
Posts: 11,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sabry
They are switching to a new encryption system.. All of those channels will be lost

Its true, this is crazy, most of us need to watch channels that are not offered in Canada and have no alternatives for it..
SON OF A BITCHES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Im gonna lose all my good channels!

First it was the ten and extacy.....now i lost all my korean channels, and im losing MBC, Art, an Al Jazeera

so whats the solution?
would someone hack the new encryption System?

what about FTA (Free To Air)? is that better?
Cause i heard there is no card and all you do is put into your computer (USB?) and it gives you new programs and shit...

:rollani:
:rollani: :rollani:
:rollani: :rollani: :rollani:
:rollani: :rollani: :rollani: :rollani:
:rollani: :rollani: :rollani: :rollani: :rollani:
The Golani Brigade

Kol HaKavod Le Ztahal

STRAIGHT OUTTA PETACH TIKVA

Rick James, Bitch!
Kappa21 is offline  
post #7 of 21 (permalink) Old May 23rd, 2005, 23:59
Xtratime Legend
 
Lupi's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04 2001
Location: Montréal, Canada
Teams: România, Viitorul Constanta
Posts: 25,374
There will always be someone who will hack new encryption methods, the problem with the new method is that they can catch you very easily.

"Strength and honor"
MAXIMUS DECIMUS MERIDIUS
Lupi is offline  
post #8 of 21 (permalink) Old May 24th, 2005, 02:10 Thread Starter
Legend
 
Kappa21's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Teams: Beitar Jerusalem, ISRAEL NT, Inter Milan,
Posts: 11,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lupisor
There will always be someone who will hack new encryption methods, the problem with the new method is that they can catch you very easily.

well unfortuantely, there are so many channels that people in Canada wanna get and cannot...so they have to resort to any means possible

:rollani:
:rollani: :rollani:
:rollani: :rollani: :rollani:
:rollani: :rollani: :rollani: :rollani:
:rollani: :rollani: :rollani: :rollani: :rollani:
The Golani Brigade

Kol HaKavod Le Ztahal

STRAIGHT OUTTA PETACH TIKVA

Rick James, Bitch!
Kappa21 is offline  
post #9 of 21 (permalink) Old May 24th, 2005, 06:03
World Class Player
 
Join Date: 04 2000
Posts: 7,935
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lupisor
the problem with the new method is that they can catch you very easily.
How so, Lupisor?

BTW did you change your nickname recently?
Sabry is offline  
post #10 of 21 (permalink) Old May 24th, 2005, 20:18
World Class Player
 
Join Date: 04 2000
Posts: 7,935
Kappa,

Are FTA channels the ones that are freely available to everyone without subscription (or, alternatively, a hack ) ...? If so, do you know how we can get those and do they require special hardware, etc..
Sabry is offline  
post #11 of 21 (permalink) Old May 25th, 2005, 00:05
Xtratime Legend
 
Lupi's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04 2001
Location: Montréal, Canada
Teams: România, Viitorul Constanta
Posts: 25,374
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sabry
How so, Lupisor?

BTW did you change your nickname recently?

I've read in some Romanian forum that with the new signal they can pinpoint you with extreme accuracy following which you will receive a message on your TV screen or even a phone call warning you. I will try to get more info on this.

Yes, I was Lupisor Lupetto, now I'm simply Lupisor =)

"Strength and honor"
MAXIMUS DECIMUS MERIDIUS
Lupi is offline  
post #12 of 21 (permalink) Old May 25th, 2005, 02:01 Thread Starter
Legend
 
Kappa21's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Teams: Beitar Jerusalem, ISRAEL NT, Inter Milan,
Posts: 11,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sabry
Kappa,

Are FTA channels the ones that are freely available to everyone without subscription (or, alternatively, a hack ) ...? If so, do you know how we can get those and do they require special hardware, etc..
DAMMIT!!!!! :frustrat: Thats what im trying to ask you guys..


FTA = Free to Air.
Its a receiver without a card. It has a USB 2.0 Cable that you upload the system and information for your satelite to get. So pretty much every time your system goes blank, you go to your computer and grab a new software.

The way a receiver works is that its like a regular one, but this one, you would need to buy the FTA receiver and then you would need to buy a Hard Drive so you can upload. A 50GB would do you ok, i think.

The question is, if i get it, would it work or would it go blank like the other channels are now!

and is this only in Canada or is this in the U.S as well

i heard that in the coming months/year, Rogers/Bell will start carrying foreign channels on there lineup.......

:rollani:
:rollani: :rollani:
:rollani: :rollani: :rollani:
:rollani: :rollani: :rollani: :rollani:
:rollani: :rollani: :rollani: :rollani: :rollani:
The Golani Brigade

Kol HaKavod Le Ztahal

STRAIGHT OUTTA PETACH TIKVA

Rick James, Bitch!
Kappa21 is offline  
post #13 of 21 (permalink) Old May 25th, 2005, 02:10
World Class Player
 
Join Date: 04 2000
Posts: 7,935
Kappa,

They'll probably charge an arm and a leg for it.. I used to get the basic ART channel (not even ART Movies) from my cable provider, and they charged 12$ a month only for that single channel.

I think Rogers charge something similar for that channel.

Ridiculous of course....
Sabry is offline  
post #14 of 21 (permalink) Old May 25th, 2005, 03:26 Thread Starter
Legend
 
Kappa21's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Teams: Beitar Jerusalem, ISRAEL NT, Inter Milan,
Posts: 11,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sabry
Kappa,

They'll probably charge an arm and a leg for it.. I used to get the basic ART channel (not even ART Movies) from my cable provider, and they charged 12$ a month only for that single channel.

I think Rogers charge something similar for that channel.

Ridiculous of course....

Yes, it will cost alot..

theres packages where u get a bundle. Many people only want there country and then some, when you can get other countries and then some for a more reasonable price.

Its like going to Mcdonalds. You want a hamburger and fries...

just get a combo and get the drink as well for like the same price...

But im not letting this one out. I paid 600 for my satelite and i wanna get satelite!!!

Im ok with the U.S for now
HBO ALL NIGHT!!!!!!

:rollani:
:rollani: :rollani:
:rollani: :rollani: :rollani:
:rollani: :rollani: :rollani: :rollani:
:rollani: :rollani: :rollani: :rollani: :rollani:
The Golani Brigade

Kol HaKavod Le Ztahal

STRAIGHT OUTTA PETACH TIKVA

Rick James, Bitch!
Kappa21 is offline  
post #15 of 21 (permalink) Old May 25th, 2005, 03:48
World Class Player
 
Join Date: 04 2000
Posts: 7,935
Nope, they didn't have a combo for that. They said take it for $12 or leave it...................
Sabry is offline  
post #16 of 21 (permalink) Old May 25th, 2005, 15:21 Thread Starter
Legend
 
Kappa21's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Teams: Beitar Jerusalem, ISRAEL NT, Inter Milan,
Posts: 11,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sabry
Nope, they didn't have a combo for that. They said take it for $12 or leave it...................

Rip off..

It can end up costing you like 300 a month for the stations you want...
:irritate:


and Bell/Rogers complain why people resort to illegal satelites.....

:rollani:
:rollani: :rollani:
:rollani: :rollani: :rollani:
:rollani: :rollani: :rollani: :rollani:
:rollani: :rollani: :rollani: :rollani: :rollani:
The Golani Brigade

Kol HaKavod Le Ztahal

STRAIGHT OUTTA PETACH TIKVA

Rick James, Bitch!
Kappa21 is offline  
post #17 of 21 (permalink) Old May 26th, 2005, 14:17
Rising Star
 
Ceres's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02 2004
Posts: 559
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kappa21
Rip off..

It can end up costing you like 300 a month for the stations you want...
:irritate:


and Bell/Rogers complain why people resort to illegal satelites.....

I must say that I dont know much about satellite TV, since I live in Europe and have always had cable TV...

Since I live in Denmark, I probably got the advantage that it's a rather small country with no real big market for Pay per view, so the Danish "sports" channels show alot of European soccer (EPL, La Liga, Bundesliga, Danish superliga) as a part of the usual cable/satelite package without charging extra...

I pay around US$34 a month for cable TV including lots of the usual foreign channels and then ofcause all the different Danish channels that shows all the Danish NT and U21 NT games live (different channels), most of the Danish EC games live (different channels), Scandinavian Royal league games live (kanal 5), CL games live (Viasat 3+), some EPL games live, usually 2 German Bundesliga games live a week (kanal 5), once in a while even Rangers vs. Celtic live, one or two Danish Superliga games live a week (Viasat 3+) and normally also two Spanish La liga games live a week (kanal 5) ... All this included in the US$34 a month

If I then want to pick and choose freely between the all the Danish Superliga games and Champions League games (live ofcause), Then I need a Viasat Gold card that normally cost around US$68 a month extra... I dont know if the cheaper Viasat Basis or Silver package (that shows, CL, English FA Cup and Danish Superliga live on 3+) or Kanal 5 (La Liga and Bundsliga) would be available in Canada ? ... Kanal 5 is send to Denmark via satellite from London and can be recived in Denmark if you got a card from Canal Digital. Since I got cable I pay around US$1½ a month for Kanal 5 (included in the US$34)...
----
If it has any interest :

Viasat:
http://www.viasat.dk/index.phtml?pag...23267&nav=1184

Viasat Sport:
http://www.sport.viasat.dk/index.pht...=55250&nav=305

Adress if you want to contact Viasat to get more info:
http://www.viasat.dk/index.phtml?nav...&document=8202

Viasat A/S
Postboks 1028
4760 Vordingborg
Denmark

Kanal 5, adresse, phone, write or E-mail at the bottom of the page :
http://kanal5.tvdanmark.dk/kanal5_in...t_os/index.php

You can always find most of the games shown on Danish TV channels at:
http://www.bold.dk/tv/indextv.asp
.
Ceres is offline  
post #18 of 21 (permalink) Old May 27th, 2005, 18:27 Thread Starter
Legend
 
Kappa21's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Teams: Beitar Jerusalem, ISRAEL NT, Inter Milan,
Posts: 11,734
Its Not The Soccer Only!

Its The Foreign Language!
Its The Porno's
Its The Fun :d

Its Mtv!!!!!!!!

:rollani:
:rollani: :rollani:
:rollani: :rollani: :rollani:
:rollani: :rollani: :rollani: :rollani:
:rollani: :rollani: :rollani: :rollani: :rollani:
The Golani Brigade

Kol HaKavod Le Ztahal

STRAIGHT OUTTA PETACH TIKVA

Rick James, Bitch!
Kappa21 is offline  
post #19 of 21 (permalink) Old May 28th, 2005, 11:05
Rising Star
 
Ceres's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02 2004
Posts: 559
It seems that the Viasat Sport channels show a bit more than I knew... :
Viasat Sport 1 :
The games from the Danish WCQ-06 group, English Liga Cup, Danish Superliga, Danish 1st division, Danish cup. Golf : European and PGA Tour, British Open, Ryder Cup.

Viasat Sport 2 :
UEFA Champions League (all 125 games), French Ligue 1, Dutch league, English 1st division, All the Swedish and English WCQ-06 games, English FA Cup, Coppa Italia, Copa Sudamericana, ClubTV from Chelsea and Manchester United.

Viasat Sport 3 :
Basketball Euroleague, Nascar (all 39 races live from the USA), WC boxing, K1-grandprix, Ultimate Fighting Japan, Kickboxing, strike force...

However, ther is only so little time, so I'd rather save the US$68 a month and settle with what I got ...
.
Ceres is offline  
post #20 of 21 (permalink) Old June 1st, 2005, 00:50
Xtratime Legend
 
Lupi's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04 2001
Location: Montréal, Canada
Teams: România, Viitorul Constanta
Posts: 25,374
Check out this thread https://www.xtratime.org/forum/showth...0&page=1&pp=15

Do you think we can get Globecast in Canada?

"Strength and honor"
MAXIMUS DECIMUS MERIDIUS
Lupi is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Xtratime Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive. Try to avoid choosing short (like '1'), simple (like 'abcd') and easy to guess passwords (like a name of your favorite team, player, etc)! Complex and long enough passwords, that consists of random string of alphabet and numerical characters, are almost impossible to be stolen and misused.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome